Browse Items (38 total)

  • Tags: Blake Dean

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/WMH00741.jpg
Undated postcard.The moorland road between Heptonstall and Colne looking in the Heptonstall direction with Blake Dean Bridge over Alcomden Water at the bottom.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/WMH00732.jpg
Undated postcard. Looking upstream, the remains of the supports for the trestle bridge can be seen.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/JNB00506.jpg
Used during the construction of the Walshaw Dean Reservoirs.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/MCH00141.jpg
The bridge carried a narrow gauge railway across the steep valley during the construction of the Walshaw Dean reservoirs. Postcard dated 1905.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/HBW00685.jpg
The gate beside the bridge

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/HBW00684.jpg
The path from the bridge at Blake Dean down to the waters.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/HBW00317.jpg
The former chapel is now a Scout hostel.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/HBW00316.jpg
The snicket beside the bridge for the path to the river.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/MOS00102.jpg
When Halifax Corporation built Walshaw Dean Reservoir, they wanted to close the footpath across the moor. A group of people from the Scientific Society carried out an Opposition Ramble from Blakedean to Oxenhope. It was agreed that there would be a…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/MOS00100.jpg
When Halifax Corporation built Walshaw Dean Reservoir, they wanted to close the footpath across the moor. A group of people from the Scientific Society carried out an Opposition Ramble from Blakedean to Oxenhope. It was agreed that there would be a…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/KST00609.jpg
Causey at the meeting of the waters, between Heptonstall and Colne

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/KST00608.jpg
Causey at the meeting of the waters, between Heptonstall and Colne

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/KST00607.jpg
Causey at the meeting of the waters, between Heptonstall and Colne

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/RDA00289.jpg
An offshoot of Mount Zion Baptist Church, Heptonstall Slack built in 1820 to serve the community at Alcomden. The Church closed in 1959 and was then used as a scout hostel but demolished in 1971. A new hostel was built adjoining the graveyard.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/RDA00120.jpg
"At 105 feet high the trestle bridge carrying Blakedean railway across the valley remained a stunning spectacle for over a decade in the early years of the 20th century. Enoch Tempest commissioned architect William Henry Cockcroft and engineer George…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/TWA00203.jpg
BLAKE DEAN BRIDGE is a single-arch stone bridge. Just downstream from the present structure there used to be a wooden trestle bridge erected when the three Walshaw Dean reservoirs were being constructed. It was 700 feet long and 105 feet high, and…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/DEF00108.jpg
These supports are all that remains of the bridge that carried the rail or tramway used for the transportation of men and equipment from the base camp at White Hill Nook, Heptonstall, to the construction site of the Washaw Dean Reservoirs.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/WAO00212.jpg
Postcard with postmark July 1956. Shows Widdop Road coming down from Heptonstall Slack to the bridge over Alcomden Water.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/KEC00190.jpg
"At 105 feet high the trestle bridge carrying Blakedean railway across the valley remained a stunning spectacle for over a decade in the early years of the 20th century. Enoch Tempest commissioned architect William Henry Cockcroft and engineer George…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/EIL00118.jpg
This Post Card, one in the Valentine's Series, is quite a well known photo. In the 1950's local teenagers would gather to swim in the Green Lady pool which formed around the remains of the stone foundations used to support the structure (which was…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/ALC05171.jpg
Built in 1820 and closed in March 1959. demolished in1971. Off-shoot of Slack Chapel. Ref: 039a
Output Formats

atom, csv, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2