Browse Items (47 total)

  • Tags: Locomotive

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/NGH00125.jpg
Seen here at an unknown location sometime after restoration to its LNER livery and number.
The iconic Flying Scotsman was built in 1923 in Doncaster for the London and North Eastern Railway (LNER), and was one of Sir Nigel Gresley’s powerful A1…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/NGH00124.jpg
Believed to be number 44767 which had been named 'George Stephenson' in 1975.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/NGH00103.jpg
Seen here at an unknown location sometime after restoration to its LNER livery and number.

The iconic Flying Scotsman was built in 1923 in Doncaster for the London and North Eastern Railway (LNER), and was one of Sir Nigel Gresley’s powerful A1…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/NGH00102.jpg
Seen here at an unknown location sometime after restoration to its LNER livery and number. In the foreground an engine turn table.

The iconic Flying Scotsman was built in 1923 in Doncaster for the London and North Eastern Railway (LNER), and was …

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/NGH00101.jpg
The former LMS Black Five was withdrawn from BR service on 31 December 1967. The preserved loco is seen here at an unknown motive power depot sometime after having been named 'George Stephenson' in 1975.

For more information see…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/DNT00222.jpg
The first station out of Bradford on the Midland’s line towards Shipley it was opened in 1868 and closed nearly a hundred years later in 1965. Seen here on the right is the sizeable Manningham Motive Power Depot which closed in 1967 and then…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/DNT00198.jpg
Known as Grassington & Threshfield Station it was the terminus of the Yorkshire Dales Railway and opened with the line from Embsay Junction on the MR’s Ilkley Skipton Line in 1902; it was operated throughout by the MR. Regular passenger services were…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/DNT00155.jpg
The original station was opened by the Bradford, Wakefield and Leeds Railway in 1858, and was originally named Lofthouse. This was renamed Lofthouse and Outwood in July 1865. It closed on 13 June 1960.[1] A different Lofthouse and Outwood station,…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/DNT00119.jpg
The first station at Elland opened in October 1840 at the same time as the section of the M&LR between Hebden Bridge and Normanton and was immediately to the east of Elland Tunnel. It was rebuilt a little to the east in 1865 and then again in 1894 as…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/WAO00126.jpg
On the left workmen are repairing the viaduct fence. The platforms not only ran along the viaduct but also extended over the sides, supported by massive iron brackets, hence the reason for fencing instead of the usual stone parapet.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/ALC00617.jpg
Clearing the wreckage following the rail disaster on 21 June 1912 on the notorious Charlestown Curve between Hebden Bridge and Todmorden in which four people died. For further information: http://www.hebdenbridgehistory.org.uk/charlestown/events.html

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/ALC00607.jpg
ESAU was one of 15 Bagnall locos used on the works line during construction of Walshaw Dean Reservoirs. On the footplate is Enoch Tempest the construction contractor and next to him,sitting on the coal, his nephew or grandson George Tempest. On the…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/LYR00122.jpg
LYRS 2777n -1937. Sowerby Bridge - general view of track formation, loco depot, Goods Yard and West Signal Box taken from the top of Sowerby Tunnel.

Sowerby Bridge was the main operating centre for the Upper Calder Valley with a large engine and…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/GEE00109.jpg
Mechanics and engine staff at Sowerby Bridge loco depot on an Aspinall 0-6-0 tender loco built in 1894. Post 1923, possibly late 1920s.

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/WMH00726.jpg
Undated postcard. One of the 15 engines used during the construction of the reservoirs at Walshaw Dean for Halifax Corporation. Work started in 1901. As well as transporting supplies and materials the railway was also used to transport the navvies…

http://www.penninehorizons.org/Omeka_photos/JCA00348.jpg
The small intermediate station between Greetland on the Calder Valley Main Line and the Branch terminus at Holywell Green. Whilst the terminus station had only one platform West Vale has two both with stone buildings unlike some on the Main Line…
Output Formats

atom, csv, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2